MEETING MINUTES

SEXUAL ASSAULT PROTOCOL MEETING FOR TALLAPOOSA JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

Date: December 28, 2023

Time: 10:00 a.m.

Meeting called to order by: Mark H. Murphy, Chief Judge

IN ATTENDANCE

Mark Murphy, Superior Court Chief Judge; Jaeson Smith, Chief ADA; Jean Crane, Polk County Chief Magistrate; Crystal Damiano, Haralson County Magistrate; Sgt. Kevin Chandler, Polk County Sheriff's Office; Cpt. Donnie Mapp, Haralson County Sheriff's Office; Kiki Evans, Polk County Police Assistant Chief; and, Jamie Newsome, Cedartown Police Chief.

QUORUM CONFIRMATION

Judge Murphy called the meeting to order, recognized each attendee, and confirmed there was a quorum.

NOMINATION OF CHAIRPERSON

The Sexual Assault Protocol Committee is required to meet annually. There is not currently a chairperson of this committee. Jamie Newsome made a motion to nominate Kiki Evans which was seconded by Jaeson Smith. There was no opposition.

APPROVAL OF SEXUAL ASSAULT PROTOCOL

The most recent Sexual Assault Protocol was filed in January 2022. A copy of the protocol was sent for review to all attendees prior to this meeting. Jaeson Smith made a motion to adopt the current Sexual Assault Protocol. Kiki Evans seconded the motion. All present voted in favor.

NOMINATION OF CITIZEN DESIGNEES

Since there is no sexual assault or rape crisis center in the Tallapoosa Circuit, two citizen designees need to be nominated. Vickey Atkins and Carolyn Williams previously filled these roles. If these two designees are no longer willing to serve in this capacity, Jaeson Smith suggested reaching out to the head nurses at Polk Hospital and Higgins Hospital. Jamie Newsome suggested someone from Our House Women's Shelter if no one from the hospitals was willing to serve. Judge Murphy will follow up on these suggestions and forward the contact information of these individuals to Kiki Evans once they have been identified.

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be scheduled by Kiki Evans.

ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn was made at 10:22 a.m. by Jaeson Smith and passed unanimously.